Life Sustaining Award

Eligibility & Criteria

The purpose of the MEA Life Sustaining Award is to recognize member company employees who have attempted to save the life of another.

  • Eligibility

    Candidates of the award must be employees of a MEA energy delivery member company. All employees from MEA energy delivery member companies are eligible.

    Life Sustaining efforts from January 1 to December 31 of the previous year are eligible for nomination. (For example: If submitting data for the 2020 awards, submit data for January 1 – December 31, 2019.)

    Individuals performing as members of rescue squads, ambulance teams, or paramedics at the time of the act are not eligible for this award.

  • Credentials

    An MEA member must recommend the candidate for the award.

    Details about the action must accompany the award nomination. Must provide all pertinent information about the life sustaining event. This can include employee statements, witness statements, newspaper articles, photographs, drawings, etc. that gives full and accurate details of the service.

  • Award Selection

    Nominations are sent to the MEA Board of Directors for final approval. Awards are presented in-person at the annual Electric Operations Technical & Leadership Summit or Gas Operations Technical & Leadership Summit.